ANTM’s “Short Season”

Thanks largely to Roger Talley and www.newmodels.com, I knew that, as a 5’3″ Caucasian woman, I had no chance of being famous, or even well-known as a model.  Of course, locally I’m pretty well-known, but that’s because I’ve worked my ass off to network and build a good reputation for myself.

Sure, I’d love to have my face all over billboards or in magazines, but really, who am I kidding?  I’ll likely never be in a local campaign, let alone a major one, and I most certainly won’t be walking the runway for any top designers in major shows, no matter how fun I think it is.  As I’ve noted before, it’s best to not assume you’re the exception.  I know that I’m most certainly not it.

Now, normally, this would all not be a big deal.  However, it has come out that the next season of America’s Next Top Model will be their “short season”.  That is, the show’s requirements are that models trying out to be on the show much be 5’7″ OR BELOW.  Don’t believe me?  Check out their website, and read the eligibility requirements PDF: Top Model Cycle 13 Casting

And while I have little interest in trying out for the show (although the prospect of being close enough to Nigel Barker to touch him is quite tempting), it’s kind of tempting.  However, the show will be taped from April-June this year, and I’m getting married in June… and have no desire to be on some reality show while attempting to plan my wedding and get things nailed down.

I do, however, have to wonder what they’re going to be offering these girls, and if they’re going to be taking girls who are way to short to have a career in modeling (such as myself).  The website asks that girls trying out for the show send in a VHS or DVD of themselves, and that that video must, “at least include you showing us your best runway walk.”

Runway walk?  Really? Are these shorties going to be walking runways like the past contestants did?  I can already hear the results of the go-sees… “the designers thought all of you were beautiful, but said you’re all just way too short, and wouldn’t book any of you”.

So, I guess the point of this post is, what could Tyra and CG possibly offer the winner of the “short season” of ANTM that would be realistic?  I can’t imagine the contestants who don’t make it (as they always seem to be the more successful ones) would be going on to work major campaigns around the world, or walking runways in Europe for top designers.  Unless, of course, they’re all exceptional.

Any thoughts on any of this?

(Side note, my fiance thinks I should try out, and seriously just said, “we could reschedule the wedding”.  He thinks the exposure would be worth it.  I think he’s nuts.  He also just informed me that he thinks Nigel Barker is attractive.  We will surely be talking more about this.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 802 other followers

