Wedding Weekend: Looks

For those who aren’t aware, I’m getting married in 8 days 😀 June 20!  Yay! So, of course, I’m planning very special outfits for the whole weekend.  And to keep myself organized (and entertained at work a little) I’ve decided to put together looks, similar to how they do in some magazines, for the weekend’s outfits.  I tried to use as much of the actual outfits I’ve got as possible, but it didn’t always work out.

Rehearsal Dinner
I wanted to look special, but not too dressy.  I fell in love with the dress when I found it and knew it was perfect–easy to dress up or dress down.   I wanted this outfit to sort of have my own flair to it though.  I think it works really well all put together, and isn’t too dressy or too casual.  It doesn’t scream “I’m the bride!” but I didn’t really want it too.

The dress I bought was an off-season one I found at TJMaxx.  It’s Calvin Klein, and is actually the one I shot in with Mariah Carle, pictured in the previous post.  Frustratingly enough, there wasn’t a single dress similar to it anywhere online (that I was able to find), so I had to substitute something of similar color and general shape.  It works to get an idea of the look.  Everything else is pretty much spot on, minus the fact that I need to find myself a cute shrunken blazer to go over the dress.  That’s my task tonight (along with getting flip-flops for our groomsmen and ushers).

The Look
Calvin Klein gold pleated A-line dress.  Black Wild Diva gladiator heels. Kathy VanZeeland motorcycle purse.  Belt & earrings from Express.

Rehearsal Dinner Outfit

Day-After Brunch/Afternoon at the Racetrack
The day after the wedding my grandma is hosting a brunch, and then the other half has a race (which I’ll be attending after the brunch).  So I wanted something fun, easy to layer up or down, and pretty.  I wanted it to say “I’m ready to relax and have fun” without being frumpy, boring, or too everyday.  Perfect opportunity for the maxi dress!  I opted for a solid one and went with some fun accessories.  My favorite one is the big bag I found, which will be great for a book, some extra layers (like my jean jacket), a bottle of water, and any other necessities I might need that day.  There’s definitely  more to this outfit than the rehearsal dinner one LOL!

This one was a bit easier to find things similar to what I had.  The dress (also found at TJMaxx) is solid green instead of patterned, but looks pretty much the same.  The bag I’ve got is way cute, because instead of just being plain straw, it’s got multi-colored strands woven in it, which tie in great to the colors of the scarf (which my friend Lonni spotted for me last night–good eye Lon!–I had something else before that oh-so-perfect one).  I’ve got pretty dangly silver and shell earrings to wear, and a cute fitted cardigan in case it’s just a little chilly out. I went with flats in case my feet hurt from dancing all night 😉  And a roll-up straw visor in case it’s really sunny.

The Look
Green Max Studio maxi dress.  White V-neck cardigan from H&M.  Denim jacket, also Max Studio.  Gladiator sandals by A.N.A.  Rosetti hobo tote.  Butterfly scarf from Charlotte Russe.  Aviator shades from Express.  Earrings from Target (I think–they’re old).  Roll-up visor from Target.

Brunch Outfit

So those are the planned outfits for the weekend.  Minus, of course, the wedding ensemble 😉 That’s kinda top secret until afterwards though.  Not sure if the other half reads this or not haha!

Leave a Reply

