Honey = More Flies

You know that saying, “you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar”?  Well it applies to models as well.

There’s a photographer about 25 miles away from me (at a rough estimate) who has a casting call up on one of the modeling sites.  It is, like many many others, a TF* casting.  Here’s what it says (not exact, so don’t go Googling it 😉 ):

I’d love to shoot sometime soon.  I’m not rich, so I can’t afford $150/hour right now, but I’d love to work with some local talent!  I see all these profiles of people who think they’re all that, but to me their profiles look terrible–like bad car show models.  I know I might not have the best models, but at least my work is classy!  If you want to work with me let me know… my contact information is on my profile.  I don’t have a big fancy camera or all that equipment, but I do good work, even in post production!

His profile goes on to say (again, not exact):

I just started working with models and am looking to work trade, for now.  You can contact me at [myspace] or [email].  Please only contact me if you’re serious, not if you’re just going to blow me off!  I’m sorry if I’m not responding right away–I just broke up with my girlfriend and I’m heartbroken!  For now, all shoots are canceled.  You can also contact me at [phone number]–call or text.  I’m also willing to edit your photos for you–check out my portfolio an don’t be afraid to ask!

Let me ask you, dear readers, what’s wrong with the casting and the profile?

Well, let’s start with the profile. Now, when I re-wrote both things, I fixed grammatical errors like you wouldn’t believe.  Run on sentences, no capital letters, words that make no sense, and… yea.  Anyway, profiles (and casting calls) that are written so horrible are hard to read, hard to understand, and overall scream “this person sucks at communicating!”.  Not a great first impression.

Then there’s the random bit about the heart-breaking girlfriend and all shoots being canceled.  If all shoots are canceled, why are you posting casting calls?  If there’s personal-life BS in your profile, make sure you keep it up to date to lessen the confusion.

Also, it’s wise to keep all your contact info together.  I mean, if you’re going to share your cell phone number and email address with the entire Internet, you might as well make it all easy to find, right?

And now, the casting. That’s what spawned this whole blog anyway.  The casting.

It makes no sense–none–to post a casting looking for models and to then essentially say everyone looking to get paid has shitty work that looks like a cheap, bad import model.  Way to insult all of the professional models (and some of us mere hobbyists) who might have taken a chance on working with you.

That’s where that whole saying at the top of this blog comes in.

It’s also not a great idea to be so negative about yourself.  It’s one thing to be honest in a PM and say, “hey, just a forewarning I shoot with a disposable Kodak… but it has an onboard flash!”.  It’s another to sell yourself short by saying “I don’t have this or this or that”.  It makes you seem like you don’t have confidence in your ability… no matter how good you say your photoshopping skillz may be.

Which brings me to the work itself. It’s bad.  Really bad.  Laughable, in fact.  There’s a lot of bad post work, including over-use of Gaussian blur, badly done selective coloring, bad background replacement… and that’s not even looking at the photos themselves (for what they are before the bad photoshopping).

So when you’re looking to book a model, take in to consideration the following:

  • Being nice goes a lot farther than making broad generalizations and bashing everyone.
  • Being negative about yourself is bad.
  • Make your profile (and your casting) easy to read and easy to understand.  Take into account grammar, spelling, punctuation, and the general info you have there.
  • No one gives a crap about your girlfriend breaking up with you.  Modeling sites are not MySpace.  You want to get all Emo on MySpace, go for it… but keep your modeling site professional.

Oh, and since I’m sure you’re wondering, no, I didn’t contact him. I sent the casting to a few good friends and got one hell of a laugh out of it all.  But I didn’t contact him.  I have no desire to work with someone who equates me to a bad car model, who has shitty work, and won’t even remotely consider paying me.  That is the definition of not getting anything out of a shoot, and would just waste my time.

One Comment to “Honey = More Flies”

  1. I love your work, and you seem to give some great advice all over your webpage! I look forward to meeting you at AG2!!

Leave a Reply

