Growing Out My Hair

In case you haven’t noticed in some of my newer pics, I’m growing my hair out.  Or at least, starting to. We’ll see how far I get.*  Bottom line is, I’m due for a change, the other half doesn’t like my hair super short, and I kinda miss being able to just pull it back into a pony and go.  So, the logical choice is to grow it out.

Here it is right now.  I’m just about at chin-length, but with all the layering it’s a bit shorter technically.

Rachel Jay

Thanks to Dave Converse/Lumigraphics for the shot (from this past weekend) 🙂  More from the set to come… later.

It’s already driving me nuts, and I just want to cut it all off.  Mostly because there’s not much it likes to do aside from flipping out, and it’s too short to pull back still (again, all the layers).  It’s cute flipped out, but that doesn’t last very long and I hate wearing my hair the same way every day.  But I’m going to hold off as long as I can.  Again, it’d be so nice to be able to throw it up into a pony or half-pony and go.  But then again, styling-wise I’m very limited.  I’m simply not as good at doing my hair when it’s long versus when it’s short.  For me, short hair is so much easier.  :sigh:  Oh well… we’ll see if I can handle this growing out thing.

*For those who don’t know, my hair’s stupidly straight.  It rarely holds a curl longer than a few hours, and doesn’t like to be curled under, flipped out, or even permed for long periods of time (I got a perm once, about 5 years ago, and while it looked fantastic, it just didn’t last long–at 6 weeks I had to straighten it all because it just looked blah).  To top it off my hair’s also very fine.  I have a lot of it, but it’s just so fine that it’s hard to get a decent amount of volume and body.  And I’ve tried it all, really.

2 Comments to “Growing Out My Hair”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

  2. Thanks Bill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

