Deposits & Cancellation Fees

After a string of cancellations, and much thought on the subject, I’ve decided that I’m going to start doing two things I’ve never done before as a model.  I am now going to require a deposit to re-book after a cancellation, and am also going to be instituting a cancellation fee.  For all shoots, even trade.  Even with those I’ve worked with before.

Bottom line is, I’m tired of setting aside a full day for someone and getting canceled on, and during summer, setting aside a full day for a shoot in IL means skipping a weekend with my family up in MI as well.  And that’s not to mention all the time I typically spend planning (finding pose, wardrobe, and hair/makeup ideas at the very least) for a shoot, and (in some cases) the money spent on new items for a shoot.

It’s just not fair to those who’ve be reliable, and I’m sorry, but a handful of folks have tipped the boat far enough where it’s just too frustrating now, and I’m done.

Here’s how it’s going to work.

  • If a shoot is canceled within 3 days, my re-booking deposit will be $25, payable via Paypal only.  Refundable the day of the shoot, or put towards MUA fees, photographer’s choice.
  • If a shoot is canceled within 24 hours, my cancellation fee will be $50, payable via Paypal only.  Non-refundable, and will not be applied to a re-booking deposit.

I’m also going to start being even more selective when it comes to those I book with.  Between upcoming workshops, a fashion show I’m in, and just my life in general, the free time I have is becoming less and less free, and, frankly, I’d rather concentrate on workshops and that stuff than shoot just to shoot.  Paid jobs, tear sheets, and the like will continue to take priority.

One Comment to “Deposits & Cancellation Fees”

  1. Deposits are a very good idea,that way people wont be so quick in not showing up or cancelling,at the end of the day its not fair on you to make the time and for others to abuse that situation.

Leave a Reply

