25 Fall Essentials

Kind of a random post for me, but I made this set on Polyvore last week and thought it would be a good one to share with other models 🙂  It’s my list of 25 fall essentials for 2010.

25 Fall Essentials

25 Fall Essentials by racheljay featuring black wash jeans

Here they are, by number:

  1. Motorcycle jacket. Great for cooler days, layering, and goes with everything—even dresses.
  2. Draped cardigan. Another great layering piece that works with pretty much everything. Best in a neutral color.
  3. Basic turtleneck sweater. Great with jeans, skirts and even leggings.
  4. Plaid shirt. Cute with leggings and jeans, nice for layering.
  5. Blazer. A general wardrobe staple for me, but great for layering, over dresses, and with any bottoms. Easy to accessorize as well.
  6. Dolman sleeve sweater. Pretty with skirts and pants alike, easy to accessorize, and great in neutral colors.
  7. Military inspired vest. Great for layering, and military is in right now.
  8. Little black dress. Whatever looks best on you, a little black dress is necessary.
  9. Sweater dress. Solids and neutrals work best and go great over leggings, tights and skinny jeans. If you get a nice sweater dress you can even dress it up.
  10. Skinny jeans. Great for tucking into boots and go with pretty much everything.
  11. Jeggings. As much as I hate the word, I love the pant! Great with nearly everything, and perfect for tucking into tall OTK boots.
  12. Flare jeans. Great with flats or heels, and pretty much anything else. Flares are my go-to jeans for going out.
  13. Khakis. Great for work but also nice for days you want to be comfy and lay around but still look cute. Find a pair that works both with other neutrals and bold colors.
  14. Black pencil-like skirt. Great for layering over tights, with sweaters, and easy to dress up or down.
  15. Neutral A-line skirt. I found one with pleats that works great both casual and dressed up.
  16. Various tights. I’m a fan of lacy tights, solid neutrals, and texture. All are great under dresses, long tops, and skirts.
  17. Scarves. Great for adding both a bit of texture and a little extra warmth, and work with pretty much any tops, and even dresses. I’m a fan of both florals and plaids.
  18. Nail polish. Right now, I’m obsessed with “greige”, deep sparkly neutral colors, and greys.
  19. OTK boots. I have 2 pairs, one flat leather pair and one heeled suede pair. Both are great with leggings, tights, or skinny jeans, and can be dressed up or down. I do try to always keep my legs covered to avoid the “skank” look.
  20. Fold-over knee-high boots. This year, instead of my trusty black knee-high boots, I went with a neutral color that works with light and dark denim, browns, olives, and blacks. Knee boots work with skinny jeans, leggings, tights… pretty much everything. Even under flare jeans sometimes.
  21. Chucks. My trusty Chucks. Great for casual days… I pretty much wear them whenever I don’t feel like dressing up. They work with everything.
  22. Oxfords. Great for when I want to wear flats but don’t want to wear Chucks. They even work with skirts.
  23. Clog boots. Great with jeans, dresses, skirts, leggings, tights, whatever. A great pair of boots that are easy to dress up or down, and go with pretty much everything.
  24. Statement pumps. I have a pair similar to this, and love wearing them with neutrals to add a punch of color.
  25. Nude pumps. These have replaced my black pumps for now as my go-to safe dress shoe. They work with pretty much everything and make my legs look longer. Win-win!
One Comment to “25 Fall Essentials”

  1. Love: One should cut out dress, bf blazer, pumps, thigh high boots and the tights!
    Definitely fall essentials, great list!

Leave a Reply

