Reader’s Choice!

So as usual, I’ve got a stockpile of drafts I’ve started, and can’t decide what to finish next.  So here are a few topics I’ve got a little bit on already, with a brief description of what each topic is about.  Take a gander…

  • Blogging: Getting Started
    In this entry, I talk about how to get started blogging, give tips for writing, and talk about some good and bad reasons to start a blog.
  • Hiring An Experienced Model: Why It’s Worth It
    This one’s pretty self-explanatory, but I talk about why, sometimes, hiring an experienced model is a better idea than going with a newb.  I won’t be discussing agency models here.
  • Point Your Toes When You Pose
    Another one that doesn’t need much introduction, but simply talks about (and shows, with photos) why it’s important for a model to be body-aware and make sure she’s pointing her toes when working the camera.
  • Posing vs. Being Posed
    Here I talk about my thoughts on a model posing on her own, versus being micromanaged by the photographer.  Is there a ‘happy place’ somewhere in the middle?  Perhaps 😉
  • Pre-Shoot Meetings
    This is something people seem to either be for, or against, and often comes up in the discussion regarding whether one is a professional or not.  In this entry, you’ll get my take on the pre-shoot meeting, when I feel it’s appropriate, when it’s a waste of time, and why it shouldn’t replace checking references.
  • Stealing vs. Inspiration
    This entry is loosely inspired by the recent Robert Granito artwork thefts (Google it).  I’ll talk about the differences (in my opinion) between outright stealing a shot (really, copying it) and using elements of a shot for inspiration.
  • Tips for Underwater Modeling
    Pretty self-explanatory, but I’ll give some tips for modeling for an underwater shoot.  I’ve only done two, but learned a lot on both shoots.  Mostly, I’ll post things I hadn’t thought of before shooting underwater, as well as some safety tips.
  • Why Public Blacklists Are Bad
    In this blog, I’ll talk about why public blacklists raise red flags about the person with the list, instead of the person on the list.

So now that you’ve seen what I’ve been up to “behind the scenes”, if you could, take a minute to vote on your favorite in the poll below.  I’d much appreciate hearing what you’d like to read about next!

Leave a Reply

